The Shadow and Bone Trilogy Book Summary

Shadow and Bone, Siege and Storm, Ruin and Rising

by Leigh Bardugo12


The Shadow and Bone Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo follows Alina Starkov's journey to harness her extraordinary power to save her country, set in a world where dark forces and mystical science collide.

What is The Shadow and Bone Trilogy about

The Shadow and Bone Trilogy, written by Leigh Bardugo, is a fantasy series that chronicles the adventures of Alina Starkov. Set in a world where darkness and magic clash with scientific elements, Alina discovers she possesses a rare power that could be the key to saving her war-torn country. Spanning three books—Shadow and Bone, Siege and Storm, and Ruin and Rising—the trilogy explores themes of power, loyalty, and self-discovery, while weaving an intricate plot full of twists and turns. The background of the Grishaverse adds a rich layer of world-building, making it an immersive experience for readers.

The Shadow and Bone Trilogy 3 Key Takeaways

Alina Starkov's Discovery

In 'Shadow and Bone,' Alina Starkov, a seemingly ordinary mapmaker, discovers she has the unique ability to summon light, making her the only hope to combat the Shadow Fold, a swath of darkness infested by monsters.

Rising Power and New Alliances

'Siege and Storm' sees Alina grappling with her growing powers while forming uneasy alliances with new characters like the privateer Sturmhond, as she battles both external threats and inner conflicts.

Final Battle and Self-Sacrifice

In 'Ruin and Rising,' Alina's journey culminates in a final showdown against the Darkling, where she faces harrowing choices and sacrifices to fulfill her destiny and save her country from eternal darkness.

The Shadow and Bone Trilogy Best Reviews

  • 'Bardugo crafts a spellbinding universe filled with exciting plot twists and richly developed characters.' — The New York Times
  • 'A fantasy epic of remarkable scope and imagination.' — Publishers Weekly

Top The Shadow and Bone Trilogy Quotes

  • 'And there's nothing wrong with being a lizard either. Unless you were born to be a hawk.'
  • 'The problem with wanting is that it makes us weak.'

Who should read The Shadow and Bone Trilogy?

This trilogy is perfect for fans of young adult fantasy, intricate world-building, and strong, complex characters. Readers who enjoy themes of power, loyalty, and self-discovery will find much to appreciate in Alina's story.

About the Author

Leigh Bardugo is a New York Times-bestselling author known for her Grishaverse novels, including the Shadow and Bone Trilogy and the Six of Crows duology. Born in Jerusalem and raised in Los Angeles, Bardugo has also worked in advertising, journalism, and as a makeup artist. Her works are celebrated for their immersive worlds, complex characters, and gripping plots.

The Shadow and Bone Trilogy FAQs

How many books are in the Shadow and Bone series?

The Shadow and Bone series consists of three books: Shadow and Bone, Siege and Storm, and Ruin and Rising.

Is Shadow and Bone book spicy?

While the series isn’t explicit, it does contain hot makeout and kissing scenes.

What order should I read the Shadow and Bone trilogy?

The recommended reading order is: Shadow and Bone, Siege and Storm, followed by Ruin and Rising.