The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe Book Summary

by C. S. Lewis18


Four siblings discover a magical world in a wardrobe, where they join forces with a lion to defeat an evil witch and restore peace.

What is The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe about

The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe is the second book in C.S. Lewis's The Chronicles of Narnia series, set in the magical land of Narnia. The story follows four siblings—Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy Pevensie—who are evacuated to the countryside during World War II. There, they find a wardrobe that serves as a portal to Narnia, a fantastical world filled with talking animals and mythical creatures. Narnia is under the oppressive rule of the White Witch, who has plunged it into eternal winter. With the help of Aslan, a noble lion, the children must overcome the witch to bring spring and harmony back to Narnia. The book captures themes of bravery, redemption, and the battle between good and evil.

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe 6 Key Takeaways

Discovery of Narnia

Lucy Pevensie stumbles upon a wardrobe that leads to Narnia, a magical world under the spell of the White Witch.

Introduction of the White Witch

Edmund encounters the White Witch, who tempts him with Turkish Delight and promises of power, sowing seeds of betrayal.

Revelation of Aslan

The siblings learn about Aslan, the great lion and true king of Narnia, who represents hope and the power to defeat the Witch.

Edmund's Betrayal and Redemption

Edmund betrays his siblings to the White Witch but is later rescued and redeemed through Aslan's sacrifice.

The Final Battle

Aslan leads an army of Narnians in a climactic battle against the White Witch, resulting in her defeat and the liberation of Narnia.

Coronation of the Pevensies

The four siblings are crowned as the new rulers of Narnia, ushering in a golden age of peace and prosperity.

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe Best Reviews

  • 'A classic of children's literature that has stood the test of time for its imaginative world and moral lessons.' - The Guardian
  • 'C.S. Lewis's storytelling is both captivating and thought-provoking, making it a must-read for all ages.' - The New York Times

Top The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe Quotes

  • 'Once a king or queen of Narnia, always a king or queen of Narnia.'
  • 'Wrong will be right, when Aslan comes in sight.'

Who should read The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe?

This book is ideal for children and young adults who enjoy fantasy and adventure stories. It also appeals to adults who appreciate allegorical tales with deeper moral and philosophical themes.

About the Author

C.S. Lewis was a British writer and lay theologian born in 1898. He is best known for his works on Christian apologetics and the seven-book series The Chronicles of Narnia. A fellow and tutor in English literature at Oxford University, Lewis's works continue to be celebrated for their imaginative scope and profound insights into human nature. His other notable works include Mere Christianity and The Screwtape Letters.

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe FAQs

What is the main theme of The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe?

The main theme is the battle between good and evil, complemented by elements of betrayal, sacrifice, and redemption.

Who are the main characters in The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe?

The main characters are the four Pevensie siblings—Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy—as well as Aslan the lion and the White Witch.

What is Narnia?

Narnia is a fictional magical world created by C.S. Lewis, inhabited by talking animals, mythical creatures, and ruled by the noble lion Aslan.