House of Earth and Blood Book Summary

The first instalment of the EPIC Crescent City series from multi-million and #1 Sunday Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas

by Sarah J. Maas26


'House of Earth and Blood' is a gripping urban fantasy by Sarah J. Maas featuring Bryce Quinlan's quest for justice and redemption after a brutal murder in Crescent City.

What is House of Earth and Blood about

'House of Earth and Blood' by Sarah J. Maas is the first book in the Crescent City series. This novel introduces Bryce Quinlan, a woman whose life is upended by a brutal murder in the city of Lunathion, also known as Crescent City. Two years later, Bryce is still haunted by the events, but when the murderer strikes again, she joins forces with Hunt Athalar, a fallen angel, to uncover the truth. The book masterfully blends elements of fantasy, mystery, and romance, set in a richly detailed world with complex characters and thrilling suspense.

House of Earth and Blood 7 Key Takeaways

Bryce Quinnlan's carefree life

Bryce Quinlan enjoys her vibrant life in Lunathion, indulging in the city's nightlife and pleasures until a brutal murder changes everything.

The devastating murder

A horrific murder shakes Crescent City to its core, leaving Bryce in a state of grief and seeking oblivion in the city's nightclubs for the next two years.

The murderer returns

The same murderer strikes again, compelling Bryce to confront her past and seek justice, despite her lingering trauma.

Partnership with Hunt Athalar

Bryce teams up with Hunt Athalar, a fallen angel with a dark past, to investigate the murders and uncover deep-seated secrets within the city.

Unraveling the mystery

As Bryce and Hunt dig deeper, they navigate through the city's dangerous underbelly and ancient forces, inching closer to the truth.

Climax and confrontation

The investigation leads to a dramatic climax where Bryce and Hunt confront powerful enemies and uncover truths that have far-reaching consequences.

Resolution and new beginnings

The story concludes with Bryce finding a new sense of purpose and justice, setting the stage for future adventures in the Crescent City series.

House of Earth and Blood Best Reviews

  • 'Spiced with slick plotting and atmospheric world-building ... a page-turning delight.' – Guardian
  • 'Sarah J. Maas does not disappoint ... To be devoured with relish.' – Mail
  • 'This book in one word... Epic! And I wholeheartedly mean that! Read it and then tell everyone you know, and their Granny, to read it too! It's just that good!' – Reader Review

Top House of Earth and Blood Quotes

  • 'Bound by blood. Tempted by desire. Unleashed by destiny.'
  • 'To live is to fight. To fight is to be alive.'

Who should read House of Earth and Blood?

Fans of urban fantasy, mystery, and romance will find 'House of Earth and Blood' captivating. Readers who enjoy complex world-building and strong character development will particularly appreciate this book.

About the Author

Sarah J. Maas is a #1 New York Times bestselling author known for her richly crafted fantasy novels. She achieved widespread acclaim with her 'Throne of Glass' and 'A Court of Thorns and Roses' series. Maas is celebrated for her intricate plots, compelling characters, and immersive world-building, making her a favorite among fantasy readers.

House of Earth and Blood FAQs

How many books are in the House of Earth and Blood series?

As of January 2024, the series includes three books: 'House of Earth and Blood,' 'House of Sky and Breath,' and 'House of Flame and Shadow.' A fourth book is planned, but the release date has not been announced.

Is House of Earth and Blood appropriate?

The book contains mature content, including sexual scenes and violence. It's recommended to screen the book before letting younger readers delve into it.

Is House of Earth and Blood a romance?

While primarily a fantasy novel, 'House of Earth and Blood' features significant romantic elements, making it a fantasy romance.