Anne of Green Gables Book Summary

(Anne of Green Gables #1)

by L. M. Montgomery20


Anne Shirley, an imaginative and spirited orphan, transforms the lives of the Cuthberts and the community of Avonlea in L. M. Montgomery's classic, 'Anne of Green Gables'.

What is Anne of Green Gables about

Set in the idyllic Prince Edward Island, 'Anne of Green Gables' tells the story of Anne Shirley, a bright and imaginative orphan mistakenly sent to live with Marilla and Matthew Cuthbert, elderly siblings who expected to adopt a boy. The novel, written by L. M. Montgomery in 1908, explores themes of belonging, imagination, and the trials of growing up through Anne's adventures and misadventures. Despite initial resistance, Anne's unique charm and vibrant personality win over the Cuthberts and the entire village of Avonlea, making this a beloved classic in children's literature.

Anne of Green Gables 7 Key Takeaways

Anne's Arrival at Green Gables

Anne Shirley arrives at Green Gables by mistake; the Cuthberts had intended to adopt a boy to help with their farm work. Despite their initial shock, they decide to keep her.

Anne's Misadventures

Anne's imaginative nature leads to a series of humorous and touching incidents, including dying her hair green and accidentally getting her friend Diana drunk.

Friendship with Diana Barry

Anne forms a deep and lasting friendship with Diana Barry, her kindred spirit, which becomes one of the central relationships in the novel.

Conflict with Gilbert Blythe

Anne initially clashes with Gilbert Blythe after he teases her about her red hair, but this rivalry eventually evolves into a significant relationship.

Academic Achievements

Anne's intelligence and determination lead to academic success, including winning a scholarship to attend Queen's Academy.

Matthew's Death

The sudden death of Matthew Cuthbert is a pivotal moment in the novel, profoundly affecting Anne and Marilla and marking her transition from childhood to adulthood.

Anne's Decision to Stay

Anne decides to stay in Avonlea to support Marilla after Matthew's death, foregoing her scholarship to Queen's Academy, showing her growth and sense of responsibility.

Anne of Green Gables Best Reviews

  • Lucy Maud Montgomery's 'Anne of Green Gables' is a delightful classic that captures the essence of childhood wonder and the struggle to find one's place in the world. It is a timeless story of resilience and imagination. - The New York Times
  • 'Anne of Green Gables' remains a staple in children's literature due to its compelling protagonist and the author's vivid depiction of rural life on Prince Edward Island. - The Guardian

Top Anne of Green Gables Quotes

  • 'Isn't it nice to think that tomorrow is a new day with no mistakes in it yet?'
  • 'Dear old world', she murmured, 'you are very lovely, and I am glad to be alive in you.'
  • 'It's been my experience that you can nearly always enjoy things if you make up your mind firmly that you will.'

Who should read Anne of Green Gables?

Those who appreciate classic literature, coming-of-age stories, and richly detailed settings will find 'Anne of Green Gables' captivating. It is suitable for middle school readers and up, offering valuable life lessons and an inspiring protagonist.

About the Author

Lucy Maud Montgomery (1874-1942) was a Canadian author best known for her 'Anne of Green Gables' series. Born on Prince Edward Island, Montgomery drew heavily from her own experiences and the landscape of her homeland in her writing. Over her lifetime, she published 20 novels, over 500 short stories, an autobiography, and a book of poetry. Her works have been widely read and cherished for their vivid characters and engaging storytelling.

Anne of Green Gables FAQs

What is the book 'Anne of Green Gables' about?

‘Anne of Green Gables’ is a coming-of-age story about Anne Shirley, an imaginative and spirited orphan girl who finds a home with the elderly Cuthberts in Avonlea, Prince Edward Island. The novel explores themes of belonging, creativity, and personal growth.

Is 'Anne of Green Gables' an adult book?

'Anne of Green Gables' is considered a classic children's novel but is written to be enjoyed by all ages, making it suitable for adult readers as well.

How many 'Anne of Green Gables' books did L. M. Montgomery write?

L. M. Montgomery wrote eight books in the 'Anne of Green Gables' series, continuing Anne's story through various stages of her life.