Skip to content

I Am Number Four Book Summary

Lorien Legacies, Book 1

by Pittacus Lore (James Frey and Jobie Hughes)

I Am Number Four

Lorien Legacies, Book 1

Pittacus Lore (James Frey and Jobie Hughes)


I Am Number Four is the first book in the Lorien Legacies series, a thrilling young adult science fiction saga. It follows the story of John Smith, a teenage alien from the planet Lorien who is hiding on Earth from deadly enemies. He is Number Four in a group of nine Garde children sent to Earth for protection, each with unique abilities known as Legacies. As the Mogadorians hunt them down one by one, John must learn to control his powers, embrace his destiny, and fight back to protect himself, his friends, and the future of his people.

Table of contents

Open Table of contents

Author & Writing Background

Pittacus Lore is a pen name used by the co-authors James Frey and Jobie Hughes. James Frey is an American writer known for his controversial memoir ‘A Million Little Pieces.’ Jobie Hughes is a writer and producer. The ‘Lorien Legacies’ series was created with the intention of being adapted into a film franchise.

Key Takeaways

The Garde and their Legacies

Nine Lorien children, known as the Garde, are sent to Earth with their Cêpans (guardians) to hide from the Mogadorians, a hostile alien race that destroyed their planet. Each Garde possesses unique abilities called Legacies that develop as they mature.

The Mogadorian Threat

The Mogadorians are relentless in their pursuit of the Garde, determined to eliminate them and prevent their return to Lorien. They are ruthless and technologically advanced, posing a significant threat to Earth and the Garde.

John Smith’s Journey

John, also known as Number Four, is the protagonist of the story. He struggles with his identity as an alien and his responsibility as a Garde. As he learns to control his Legacies, he must also navigate the challenges of adolescence and first love.

The Importance of Friendship and Loyalty

John finds friendship and support in Sarah Hart, a human girl who becomes his confidante. The bond they share highlights the importance of trust and loyalty in the face of adversity.

The Power of Destiny

The Garde are destined to fight the Mogadorians and reclaim their home planet. John must learn to embrace his destiny and accept the responsibility that comes with it.

The Search for Other Garde

John knows that he is not alone and that other Garde are scattered across the Earth. He is determined to find them and unite their powers to defeat the Mogadorians.

Loss and Sacrifice

The Garde face constant danger, and loss is an inevitable part of their journey. John experiences personal tragedies that shape his character and motivate him to fight for survival.

Hope for the Future

Despite the challenges and setbacks, the Garde remain hopeful for the future. They believe in their ability to defeat the Mogadorians and rebuild their lives on Lorien.

FAQ about I Am Number Four

What are Legacies in the book?

Legacies are special abilities possessed by the Garde, such as telekinesis, elemental manipulation, enhanced strength, and the ability to communicate with animals.

Why are the Mogadorians hunting the Garde?

The Mogadorians destroyed Lorien and want to eliminate the Garde to prevent them from ever reclaiming their home planet or posing a threat to their power.

Is there a sequel to I Am Number Four?

Yes, I Am Number Four is the first book in the Lorien Legacies series. It is followed by The Power of Six, The Rise of Nine, The Fall of Five, and several other books and novellas.

Was the book adapted into a movie?

Yes, I Am Number Four was adapted into a film in 2011, starring Alex Pettyfer as John Smith.

I Am Number Four Quotes

  • ”I am Number Four. I know that I am not alone. But I am afraid. I am afraid that the next time I see Number Three it will be as a corpse. And that scares me as much as anything else."
  • "We are not human. We are not Mogadorian. We are Loric. We are Garde."
  • "Sometimes, when you least expect it, you meet someone who changes your life forever.”